Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Domain name spam

We are reminding our customers again about some unethical spam email being sent by some domain companies.

We received a series of emails over the past week or so informing us that one of our domain names would be deleted, or it had inaccurate information. The words that they use were meant to create great concern and immediate response on our part.

However, the emails were BOGUS. Why do we say that?

  • Some emails were sent to support@webcubic.com which is a legitimate email address for some of our domains. Others were sent to te@webcubic.com - we have no such email address.
  • The emails never said what the domain name was that was at issue. We only saw references to the domain company's website. When we placed our cursor over those links, we noticed a different URL.
  • The emails themselves never told us who was sending it except for the name "Domain Services" (something generic) in the signature block.
Please be careful. The company names appearing in these emails are the names of legitimate domain name registrars. They are not necessarily the source of the emails but their names appear in the emails to lend an air of legitimacy.

If you have any questions about similar emails that you receive, please forward the email to us and ask us to comment on its relevance.